• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Minister Li Yi Shan says Mediacorpse is damn low class

Minister criticises Channel 8 drama serials
Shin Min Daily News - 35 mins ago

pc_600x450.jpg
<cite style="display: block; font-style: normal; font-size: 10px; margin-top: 4px; margin-right: 0px; margin-bottom: 4px; margin-left: 0px; ">Minister Lee Yi Shyan (left) The cast of 'Love Thy Neighbour' (right).</cite>
Minister Lee Yi Shyan has come out to criticise that Channel 8 dramas serials are too shallow.

Mr Lee, who is the Minister of State for Trade & Industry and National Development, caught the controversial "Love Thy Neighbour" drama yesterday evening and posted his thoughts on Facebook.

In his post, he asked why the characters in Channel 8 dramas shout and fight so much. He feels that the characters communicate too little and fail to express themselves sufficiently.

He also feels that the actors seem to express their feelings through crying and shouting rather than through their lines, which lack depth.

He also pointed out that drama serials in countries like China have well-written lines that convey feelings and can touch audiences.

The minister believes that only people who are unable to express themselves properly will resort to anger. He thinks that well-written lines on TV will provide children with good examples to follow and help them learn to communicate better.

Local playwright Hong Rong Di agrees with the minister that Chinese dramas could do with more depth.

Hong said, "We tend to use more expressive words when writing the lines of lawyers and doctors, but not so with most common folk. If everyone speaks in learned tones, the drama will seem unrealistic."

Hong also explained that as Singapore's Chinese language standards are not as high as that of China, the writers tend to use less complicated words in the scripts.

The artistes also gave their take on the matter.

Cavin Soh, a cast member of "Love Thy Neighbour", feels that there is no right or wrong in art. While some people may feel there is too much fighting, others may prefer it that way.

Veteran actress Xiang Yun points out that many recent drama serials focus on the issues faced by common folk in Singapore, so they tend to have simpler lines. This may be what led the minister to think that local drama serials lack depth.

Xiang Yun recalls, "In the past when we did period dramas, we had to memorise lines of poems. Lines with more depth will be scripted when the scenario calls for it."

Source: Shin Min Daily News, 12 October 2011.

dredd

What does the twit expect? Emmy award winning serials? With the censorship we have, all creativity will be stifled.

Cruxx

The zenith of Singaporean creativity:

[video=youtube;CTMMRrxx-Ug]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CTMMRrxx-Ug[/video]

[video=youtube;ksw2UqTyhhc]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ksw2UqTyhhc[/video]

RonRon

The mediacorp productions is just a reflections of low class sinkies daily life. Sinkies are shallow, mediacorp accurately portray how sinkies behaves.

Fook Seng

I stopped watching local Chinese dramas for close to ten years. It has nothing to do with the language. It is as if local drama remains at the stage of caricature and does not go beyond. It is like reading comics instead of a good fiction or novel. Characterization is usually shallow and stereotype. Storyline has to be given explicitly and expressed in speech. There is no subtlety and very little is implicit and brought out through the acting. If you compare a good Hongkong or China production, you can find that often a moment of silence or a side way glance tells a lot more than words. The emotions are so real and believable. Singapore drama is only at the infantile stage. Viewers' preference is just an excuse for poor effort. I don't often agree with the Minister . This is one exception.

Conqueror

Kate Spade Tin Tin ?

Minister criticises Channel 8 drama serials
Shin Min Daily News - 35 mins ago

pc_600x450.jpg
<cite style="display: block; font-style: normal; font-size: 10px; margin-top: 4px; margin-right: 0px; margin-bottom: 4px; margin-left: 0px; ">Minister Lee Yi Shyan (left) The cast of 'Love Thy Neighbour' (right).</cite>
Minister Lee Yi Shyan has come out to criticise that Channel 8 dramas serials are too shallow.

communicate too little ... lack depth.

... could do with more depth.

... seem unrealistic."

... Chinese language standards are not as high as that of China ...

The artistes also gave their take on the matter.

... too much fighting ...

... simpler lines.

Was he referring to the entire PAP or just Kate Spade ?

217731_10150220871856383_14440041382_8532838_5645003_n.jpg

Conqueror

Another Toilet Bowl Analogy ?

drunk-urinal.jpg

I stopped watching local Chinese dramas for close to ten years.

Characterization is usually shallow and stereotype.

I thought okay what ... got subtle fascist idea and propaganda to keep the Sinkies logically drunk mah.

Singapore drama is only at the infantile stage

i remember watching some old HK film starring WangSa & YeFeng. They are like movie stars back then... then some how or rather, the movie industry in HongKong took flight whilst our local drama made little improvements, not much great works produced after the days of 雾锁南洋 and Kopi-O.

vamjok

with their silly censorship rules and the brainwashed narrow-minded complain dogs, how you expect local shows to shine.

Everything will be different if local dialects are allowed in the show.

i remember watching some old HK film starring WangSa & YeFeng. They are like movie stars back then... then some how or rather, the movie industry in HongKong took flight whilst our local drama made little improvements, not much great works produced after the days of 雾锁南洋 and Kopi-O.

Hong Kong definitely had a headstart in show business. The british colony had been the favourite destination for chinese scriptwriters, novelists and actors during the turbulent years. For example, when the Shaw brothers (originally from Zhejiang), went to Hk, the entire cinema industry was transplanted in there. Those who stayed on in mainland were probably forced to kill themselves during the cultural revolution.

wtf? ... tis burger oso oni noe how 2 whine? ... :rolleyes:

he shud juz go stomp it! ... :rolleyes:

All these ministers are just echoing the issues netizens have raised recently. Just to show that they are doing work.

Will the show be canned? Don't think so...

they can't have their cake and eat it too. in the sinkie context, it's impossible to insert depth in a real day to day dialogue (in dialect) already rich with meaning, nuances and a long history of ah beng culture. they basically cannot do it in mandarin, which is the boundary these writers, producers and actors have to work in. if it is in teochew or hokkien, the dialogue can be so rich and full of depth that sometimes one simple subtle word or phrase is enough to portray the entire emotion and endearment of what one wishes to express. "lin lau pei ka lu gong..."

konstandy

What does the twit expect? Emmy award winning serials? With the censorship we have, all creativity will be stifled.

u r wrong!! 20 years ago with censorship tighter we have better drama serials ... examples are:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_programmes_broadcast_by_MediaCorp_Channel_8

Army Series
The Samsui Women
The Awakening

& the more recent 1 Bt Ho Swee (my favorite)
http://www4.mediacorp.sg/contentdistribution/programme/detail.php?prog_id=605

The reason medicorpse turn out rubbish is their cost cutting & recruiting retarded script writers!!:mad: